notar.ch

Notar.ch Logo

Transfer Options

The sale of a company can be designed as either a share deal or an asset deal.

In a share deal, the equity securities of a legal entity (e.g. shares) are sold to a buyer. Such a transaction does not require any public deeds or changes in the land registers.

In an asset deal, the owner of a company sells individual assets (and in some cases liabilities as well). Asset deals are executed by selling parts or, if applicable, all of a company’s tangible/intangible assets. The sale of properties included must be publicly notarised. In the case of the sale of other assets and liabilities, the written form is usually sufficient.

Owners of legal entities can choose to sell their businesses either via a share deal or an asset deal. Mixed forms of sale are often used as well; in this case, certain assets are removed from the company before its shares are sold. Sole proprietorships and partnerships can in principle only be sold by means of an asset deal, unless the company in questions is transformed into a legal entity prior to the sale.

Of course, in the case of family-internal succession solutions, the sale of equity securities (known as participation certificates in Switzerland) might prove to be a better choice. An advance on inheritance or a transfer as a gift should also be considered as family-internal succession options. Mixed forms of transfer are also occasionally used in which some ownership rights are transferred as a gift and some are sold.

We will be happy to explain various transfer options to you in a personal consultation and advise you which options correspond to your personal and business goals. Our experts will then draw up the documents needed for your chosen approach and manage all the necessary notarisations for you.

Contact

Samuel Dürr
Direct phone: +41 58 658 29 02

Marco Strahm Notariat
Christoffelgasse 6
Postfach
3001 Bern
Schweiz

Phone: +41 58 658 20 00
Fax: +41 58 658 59 59



View profile


vCard

image/svg+xml Openclipart

notar.ch

Notar.ch Logo

Übergabeoptionen

Ein Unternehmensverkauf lässt sich als Share Deal oder als Asset Deal ausgestalten.

Beim Share Deal werden die Beteiligungspapiere einer Kapitalgesellschaft (z.B. Aktien) verkauft. Öffentliche Urkunden und Änderungen im Grundbuch sind dabei nicht notwendig.

Beim Asset Deal verkauft der Unternehmer einzelne Vermögenswerte (Aktiven und ggfs. Passiven). Der Asset Deal wird durch Veräusserung eines Teils oder ggfs. sämtlicher Wirtschaftsgüter des Unternehmens vollzogen. Die Veräusserung von Grundstücken muss öffentlich beurkundet werden, bei anderen Vermögenswerten und Verbindlichkeiten genügt i.d.R. die Schriftlichkeit.

Gesellschafter von Kapitalgesellschaften haben die Wahl zwischen einem Share Deal und einem Asset Deal. Regelmässig kommen auch Mischformen vor, bei welchen vor einem Aktienverkauf der Gesellschaft ausgewählte Aktiven entnommen werden. Einzelfirmen und Personengesellschaften können grundsätzlich nur mittels Asset Deal übertragen werden, es sei denn, vor dem Verkauf wird eine Umwandlung in eine Kapitalgesellschaft vorgenommen.

Natürlich kann sich auch bei familieninternen Nachfolgelösungen der Verkauf von Beteiligungspapieren als sinnvoll erweisen. Bei einer familieninternen Nachfolgelösung kommt darüber hinaus eine Übertragung mittels Erbvorbezug oder Schenkung in Betracht. Regelmässig gelangen in der Nachfolgepraxis auch Mischformen zur Anwendung, bei welchen Beteiligungsrechte teilweise verschenkt und teilweise verkauft werden.

Gerne erläutern wir Ihnen die verschiedenen Übergabeoptionen in einem persönlichen Gespräch und beraten Sie, welche Optionen Ihren persönlichen und wirtschaftlichen Zielsetzungen entsprechen. Anschliessend erarbeiten unsere Expertinnen und Experten die je nach gewählter Vorgehensweise zu erstellenden rechtlichen Dokumente und nehmen notwendige öffentliche Beurkundungen vor.

Kontakt

Samuel Dürr
Telefon direkt: +41 58 658 29 02

Marco Strahm Notariat
Christoffelgasse 6
Postfach
3001 Bern
Schweiz

Telefon: +41 58 658 20 00
Fax: +41 58 658 59 59



Zum Profil


vCard

image/svg+xml Openclipart